Posts Tagged ‘Gold Glove’

Mark Teixeira and Derek Jeter earned their third and fifth Gold Glove, respectively.

The 2010 American League Gold Glove awards were announced today and a record three Yankees took home the hardware. Although not the trophy they were hoping to possess, Mark Teixeira and Derek Jeter both added another Gold Glove to their mantle, while Robinson Cano earned the honor for the first time. Although the selection of Cano and Teixeira were both widely accepted, the choice of Jeter was predictably met with derision in many quarters.  That discussion has already been dissected by many others, so let’s push it aside and focus instead on the historic nature of the Yankees’ gold rush.

Since the gold glove award was created in 1957 (that first year, one selection was made for the entire major leagues), the Yankees have had three selections only two other times: in 1985, when Don Mattingly, Dave Winfield and Ron Guidry were honored, and in 1965, when Joe Pepitone, Bobby Richardson and Tom Tresh won the award. This year, however, marked the first time that three Yankee infielders took home the gold. The only other American League clubs to also have three infielders win the award were the 2000 Indians (Roberto Alomar, Travis Fryman and Omar Vizquel) as well as five Orioles’ teans from 1969 to 1975 (Mark Belanger and Brooks Robinson along side Davey Johnson for two and Bobby Grich for three).

Most Gold Gloves All Time, American League

Team Total Leaders
Yankees 62 Don Mattingly (9), Several (5)
Orioles 58 Brooks Robinson (16), Mark Belanger (8), Paul Blair (8)
Tigers 42 Al Kaline (10), Bill Freehan (7), Alan Trammell (4)
Twins/Senators 41 Jim Kaat (11), Kirby Puckett (6), Torii Hunter (6)
Mariners 38 Ichiro (10), Ken Griffey Jr. (10), Several (3)
Red Sox 36 Dwight Evans (8), Carl Yastrzemski (7), Fred Lynn (4)
White Sox 35 Robin Ventura (5), Jim Landis (5), Nellie Fox (5)
Rangers 33 Ivan Rodriguez (13), Jim Sundberg (6), Buddy Bell (6)
Angels 31 Mark Langston (5), Bob Boone (4), Several (3)
Indians 29 Omar Vizquel (8), Kenny Lofton (4), Several (3)
Blue Jays 25 Roberto Alomar (5), Devon White (5), T. Fernandez (4)
Athletics 19 Eric Chavez (6), Dwayne Murphy (6), Joe Rudi (3)
Royals 18 Frank White (8), Amos Otis (3), Several (1)
Brewers 9 George Scott (5), Cecil Cooper (2), Several (1)
Other* 3 Vic Power (2), Kim Kaat (1)
Rays 4 Evan Longoria (2), Carlos Pena (1), Carl Crawford (1)

* Vic Power won the award in 1958 while splitting time with the Athletics and Indians, and in 1964 while splitting time with the Twins and Angels. In 1973, Jim Kaat won the award while splitting time with the Twins and White Sox.
Source: Baseball-reference.com

Don Mattingly's nine Gold Gloves are the most ever by a Yankee.

With their three honorees, the Yankees also extended their American League leading gold glove total to 62, four ahead of the second place Orioles. Although the Yankees hold the top spot overall, they only lead in total awards at two positions (pitcher and first base), while the Orioles rank ahead in three (2B, SS and 3B). The other positions are led by the Rangers (16 at catcher) and Mariners (24 in the outfield).

Most Gold Gloves All Time, American League (by Position)

Team P   Team C   Team 1B   Team 3B
Yankees 12   Rangers 16   Yankees 15   Orioles 16
Twins 12   Tigers 11   Brewers 7   Athletics 6
Orioles 8   Angels 6   Orioles 5   Rangers 6
Angels 5   Yankees 5   Red Sox 4   Yankees 5
White Sox 4   Twins 5   Angels 4   White Sox 5
Team 2B   Team SS   Team OF      
Orioles 9   Orioles 11   Mariners 24      
Royals 9   White Sox 9   Red Sox 22      
Yankees 6   Indians 8   Tigers 16      
Blue Jays 6   Yankees 5   Yankees 14      
Tigers 6   Blue Jays 5   Blue Jays 13      
Mariners 6   Tigers 5   Twins 13      

Source: Baseball-reference.com

On a personal level, by winning his fifth gold glove, Jeter joins only Guidry, Winfield, Mattingly and Bobby Richardson as Yankees with at least that many awards. With the exception of Mattingly, who has nine, all of the others are tied at five. Jeter also remains the only Yankees shortstop to win gold, while Cano joins Richardson and Teixeira remains in the company of Mattingly, Chris Chambliss and Pepitone at first base

All-Time Yankee Gold Glovers, by Position

Player C   Player 2B   Player 1B   Player OF
Munson 3   Richardson 1   Mattingly 9   Winfield 5
Howard 2   Cano 1   Pepitone 3   B. Williams 4
            Teixeira 2   Murcer 1
Player P   Player 3B   Chambliss 1   Tresh 1
Guidry 5   Nettles 2         Mantle 1
Shantz 4   Boggs 2   Player SS   Maris 1
Mussina 3   Brosius 1   Jeter 5   Seibern 1

Source: Baseball-reference.com

Read Full Post »